Join the Press Club of Dallas to Honor Living Legends of North Texas Journalism on May 22

The Press Club of Dallas will honor 10 journalists as Living Legends of North Texas Journalism on May 22, 2014, at the Nasher Sculpture Center in Dallas.

The event is scheduled for 6:30-8:30 p.m. and includes a reception and ceremony. It will be the Press Club’s fourth such event to recognize major contributors to the field of news gathering and reporting.

“Our salute to the Living Legends has become a signature event for the Press Club, and it’s an absolute delight to recognize these honorees and the roles they have played in reporting the news for North Texans,” said Tony Pederson, Press Club of Dallas president.

Honorees include John Anders, retired Dallas Morning News Columnist; Gloria Campos, retired WFAA-TV anchor; Iola Johnson, former WFAA-TV anchor; Judy Jordan, former KRLD-TV anchor; John Miller, former WFAA and KXAS news director; Scott Murray, former KXAS-TV sports director and anchor; Darwin Payne, former Dallas Times Herald and KERA reporter, and SMU journalism professor and author; Walt Robertson, longtime Dallas Morning News sports editor; Cissy Stewart, former Fort Worth Star-Telegram women’s editor, and Bob Welch, former KXAS journalist and videographer.

Krys Boyd, hos of KERA/90.1 FM’s “Think” talk show, will emcee the event.

Attendance is open to the public. Cost is $25 per person, $15 for members of the Press Club and NIRI DFW members.  To register at the lower rate, click “Member” on the registration site. Paid parking is available at the Trammell Crow Center (entrances off Harwood and Olive).

Payments cannot be received at the door. To register online, visit

For more information or to arrange payment by check, contact David Dunnigan at or 214-673-4406 or Janie Bryan Loveless at or 214-696-6711.